Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Cooking so easy Micaela can do it

I think I might start this topic on my blog. I should figure out a bunch of easy recipes and write a cookbook for people who suck at cooking. My food stinks. I feel sorry for my husband. His mother is an awesome cook, and I'm lucky if my food is edible. He used to be so spoiled, eating awesome made-from-scratch meals made by his mother. Now he eats frozen dinners from Costco made my me.

pretty much my cooking style

I think I'm going to venture out and try one made-from-scratch meal each week. I'm pretty much a one-trick pony- I make good banana bread. That's it. The only thing I can make that is consistently edible. If you suck at cooking or baking, I promise you can make this. If I can do it, you can do it. Here's the recipe from allrecipes.com.

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 9x5 loaf pan.
2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt.
3. In a separate bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Stir in eggs and bananas until well blended.
4. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture, stir just to moisten. Pour into loaf pan.
5. Bake 60-65 minutes.

I use whole wheat flour, but I think I might start using white because my husband likes it better that way. I also might start putting in chocolate chips. One thing I started accidentally is I don't mash my bananas all the way, I leave it a little chunky. When you eat it fresh from the oven, it's amazing. The little banana chunks are all gooey and warm. I started doing this because I was too lazy to mash it all the way. I keep doing it because I'm lazy and I think it still tastes good ^_^ Another note about bananas- I never have exactly 2 1/3 cups. I've used from 1 1/2- 2 1/2 cups depending on how many bananas I have, and it always tastes good.

I think I'll make chicken next time. I bought sweet chili sauce from Trader Joe's that I think I might put in the crock pot with some chicken. I also bought a 10,000 pound bag of potatoes from Costco that I need to use, so I'm making mashed potatoes (I think my mashed potatoes have been edible every time, but I'm not sure). I'll let you guys know how that goes. If I don't burn or cut myself, the apartment complex isn't burned to the ground, and the food is edible, that already qualifies for a 4 out of 5 stars in my book :)

No comments:

Post a Comment