AKA the weekend where everything was a major fail. We wanted to check SF off of our California to-do list before we had to head back home. So we made last-minute plans for Labor Day weekend to see SF.
Day 1:
Our trip started out with driving up to SF on the 1 (Californian for "Highway 1"). We took that route instead of the 5 because we wanted to go through Malibu and Santa Barbara. We stopped at the beautiful El Matador Beach; it had a lot of big and small rocks. My husband tripped over a small rock and dropped my camera in the ocean, so...RIP Fujifilm. Fail #1. Here's a Google picture:

We decided that one day we want to rent a convertible and drive it from LA to Santa Barbara and back because that stretch is so beautiful. The rest of the way to SF was very beautiful........until we got about 2/3 of the way and then wanted to drive our car off the cliffs because of motion sickness/having to go 20 mph when we were starving and needing to find food. We finally got to Monterey and stopped at Fisherman's Wharf for dinner. We ordered a beautiful, delicious, expensive seafood dinner that I wanted to throw up because I was pregnant (first-world problems, I know). Then we got back in the car for the last bit to SF. I think we got in around 11, which made it a fourteen-hour trip since we left at 9 that morning. J was awesome, as there was minimal fussing/crying the whole way.
Day 2:
Started out shopping. I was an idiot and didn't bring a jacket for J, so we went to JC Penney and reluctantly shelled out $9 for a jacket (I hate spending more than $5 on an article of clothing for kids because they grow so quickly). Then we went to Target and bought a new and improved Fujifilm. Except for the fact that it's defective and I need to send it in for servicing. I can't catch a break. (First-world problem, I know, I'm thankful I have the money to go out and buy a camera on a whim.) Our first scheduled stop was Chinatown. All we did was walk around and eat yummy food from one of the shops- pork dumpling things and shrimp thingumabobs.
looks gross, but was SO GOOD
Next stop was Fisherman's Wharf. We just walked around and took pictures of Alcatraz. We didn't go on the tour because it was sold out. Next was watching the Auburn game at Rogue/Nick's Crispy Tacos on Nob Hill. Somehow I managed to run into friends from Auburn in a random bar in San Francisco. War Eagle!
We went to the hotel and let J take a nap after that. When he woke up, we went to Ghirardelli Square and ate some peanut butter/ice cream/fudge concoction. Then we walked around Union Square and ate at Santorini Mediterranean Cuisine. Of course this was the one time I forgot a diaper bag, and so of course J had a monster blowout. My husband walked around the grocery stores and drug stores, but no one had diapers or wipes. So poor baby had to wallow in his filth until we got home. Fail #2.
Day 3:
We drove on the Golden Gate Bridge, except it was so foggy you couldn't see anything. Go figure.
at least the parking was free
Ok, here is Fail #3. So we were driving to Muir Woods to see the redwoods. A sign said there was no more parking, and you had to take the bus. So we stopped at the bus stop and waited for a long time. While we waited, we calculated that at the rate the buses were going, we wouldn't be able to do anything else on our list that day because so much time would be spent waiting on and riding buses. So after standing in line for a long time, we left and decided to drive up ourselves and try to find a spot. We didn't. So we basically just drove through the woods and weren't able to get out and take pictures with the redwoods.
Fail #4: We wanted to see the SF Zoo because it is one of the best in the country. So we parked around 3:45 and stopped at a coffee shop to get my husband a bite to eat because he didn't want to pay for ridiculously overpriced zoo food. We got to the zoo at 4, which is when they stop admitting people because it closes at 5. So we just looked at the free exhibit. I think my husband was secretly happy about this because he didn't have to spend money and we still got to see a beautiful exhibit.
We saw Lombard Street,
got pictures with the cable cars, walked around Pier 39,
and went to Boudin's and were happy to see that the famous bread bowls we wanted were the cheapest items on the menu.
Day 4:
This day we just drove back to LA and stopped at the Hearst Castle on the way. Fail #5: the tour was really expensive. And J got security called on us in the first three minutes because he was fussy. We were super stressed out for the rest of the tour because we were afraid of getting kicked out if J made a peep. Not a total waste of money, but still very frustrating.
All in all, it was a fun mini-vacation. I haven't been to San Fran in fifteen years, so it was nice to go again, even though some of our plans got messed up. Sorry this post was two months late ^-^